An Apple (or so) a Day…

I DID say that I’d include crafty business and recipes, right? Well here’s a recipe-ish sorta thing. My obligations have been fulfilled!

I’ve established that fall is pretty awesome in my books. One of our favourite fall traditions is, (much like most others I know), apple picking! The kids love apples any time but especially enjoy it when they’ve picked their very own!

Sprout especially enjoyed her first apple picking trip. 

Since we have bags and bags of apples right now, we are using them in every way possible. Cakes, pie, tarts, sauce and more lend themselves to this delicious time of year. Unfortunately, this creates so much apple peel waste and frankly, our composter could use a little more variety than bags and bags of apple peels.

Being one who doesn’t like to waste, I decided to try something tonight…baked apple peel chips! They are super easy to get ready, they are made of scraps destined for the compost pile otherwise and they taste delicious! I count that as a major win! Plus the kiddos can help make these. I’m foreseeing this being a constant in our house for the next few apple-y weeks!

The premise is pretty simple. Take your peels, toss with a little oil (I just used vegetable oil), sugar and cinnamon (bothe to taste) and bake until curled and crispy. Here’s a breakdown of what we did!

Preheat the oven to 410 degrees (an arbitrary number…I’m sure 400 would also work. I like to cook by the seat of my pants!)

Doesn’t look all that a-peel-ing, does it?

1) Take your peels and put them in a freezer bag. Add 1-2 Tbsp oil, 1-2tsp white sugar and 1/2tsp cinnamon (more if you wish). Close the bag and shake (or get a trusty helper to do it for you).


Shake it! One of my best sous chefs busy at work! 

Lay the peels flat on a baking sheet in a single layer. (I used foil because my baking sheets are all stained and I honestly haven’t tried all the Pinterest ideas to clean said sheets. One day.)


Lookin’ shiny! We used a combination of Gala, Yellow Delicious and Jonagold apples for our skins! 

Bake 10-15 minutes, checking carefully after 10 minutes because, as I found out, thinner pieces burn easily. I flipped ours after 8 minutes. Take out of the oven, sprinkle with more sugar, rock salt and cinnamon as desired.


Try not to taste test yet! Some will still be a little soft. Let them cool and harden. It’ll be so worth it! 


This is the only evidence I have of these crispy bites of delicious before they were all devoured. Yum. 

My plan was to prepare some caramel apple dip to go with them but they disappeared too fast! Even my poor little guy with tonsillitis braved eating them. Next time there will be dip!

Recipe:

Preheat oven to 400

Apple Peels

1-2 Tbsp oil

1-2 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp or more cinnamon

Put all ingredients in a freezer bag and shake together. Dump out on a baking sheet into a single layer and bake for 10-15min or until browned and curled at the edges. Flip halfway.

Remove from oven and let cool and crisp up. Remove from baking pan and store (or just devour).


Now for another apple picking trip!

K.


Author: moosebirdsprout

I'm a nature lovin', teaching Mum of three crazy kids. Spreading the love however we can!

Leave a Reply

