Happy Places (or, Get Outta Here)

This morning was one of THOSE mornings. One of those mornings where crawling back into bed Or maybe making a big pillow fort to hide in seem like splendid options. 

Moose has been sick for a few days, and today was his first day back. I put him onto the bus sobbing for his Mum. Poor guy. Baby Bird decided that her hearing would be sporadic and that the living room was her dojo. Oy. Sprout is amidst her first fall cold. Good times. We have been cooped up for 4 days. They are getting obnoxious, whiny and are craving more and more screen time and junk food. So am I. But Moose is at school now, Baby Bird is at the sitter, Sprout is napping and Mum needs a coffee. And her happy place.

We all have a happy place, I’d like to think. When you go there, or think about going there, your inner core just seems to settle and things are instantly a bit better. You’re thinking about your place right now, aren’t you? You’re welcome.

For some, your happy place might be a fictional place used for meditation, for others a favourite vacation or childhood memory place. For me, it’s much more general. As long as I can be outside and find some semblance of nature, I’m golden. My kids seem to be this way too. Want instant calm? Behaviours to turn around in a second? Let’s go outside. 

Being a teacher, I’ve seen this time and again with students. The busiest little bodies in a classroom get so much out of learning outdoors!  It’s surprising and a little sad whenever I do a start-of-year survey and so many kids cannot recall the last time that they spent any time outdoors except for recess at school. I would lose my marbles if cooped up all day, every day. My kids would too! 

I get that going outside can be intimidating, especially if being outside isn’t your ‘happy place’, but there’s something very magical that happens when you set kids free in an area to explore. Our area has been decimated of most things nature, but, being an unabashed nature nerd, I know where a few great places still are. We set a couple key rules (stay on the trail, no touching plants, stay where we can see you) and off we go! It works for us! If you want ideas about how to get your kids outdoors, drop me a message!


We have a tiny yard with two big maple trees in front. We’ve made the best of this are to optimize exploration in a pinch as well! Our schedule is hectic so many nights, this is as far as we get!

Drinking from the hose.

Distracted by passing birds while playing in the ‘mud garden’ 

Sketching things we’d like to put on canvas!


Searching for worms and other critters under rocks!

My happy place isn’t glamorous but it is accessible and its all I need. Plus it’s all my kids need most days too! You can bet that tonight we will indulge in an outdoor picnic and a walk through the neighbourhood to enjoy all the changing leaves before martial arts! It’ll be good for all of us! 

Where is your happy place? If you don’t have one, I’d be happy to share mine! There’s plenty to go around! Have a great day!

K.

Author: moosebirdsprout

I'm a nature lovin', teaching Mum of three crazy kids. Spreading the love however we can!

Leave a Reply

